Nobel Prize 2020-Winners List

The Nobel Laurates of the year 2020 are given below :

 The Nobel prizes are selected by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences for the Nobel Prize in Physics and Chemistry, Karolinska Institutet for the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, the Swedish Academy for the Nobel Prize in Literature, and a Committee of five persons to be elected by the Norwegian Parliament (Storting) for the Nobel Peace Prize.A person or organization awarded the Nobel Prize is called Nobel Laureate. The word "laureate" refers to being signified by the laurel wreath. In ancient Greece, laurel wreaths were awarded to victors as a sign of honor.

 The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences was given the task to select the Laureates in Economic Sciences starting in 1969.In 1968, the Sveriges Riksbank established the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.


World Food Programme (WFP)
The Nobel Peace Prize 2020

Prize motivation: "for its efforts to combat hunger, for its contribution to bettering conditions for peace in conflict-affected areas and for acting as a driving force in efforts to prevent the use of hunger as a weapon of war and conflict."


The Nobel Prize in Literature 2020 was awarded to Louise Glück "for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal." . Louise is from New York, NY, USA


The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2020 was awarded jointly to Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton and Charles M. Rice "for the discovery of Hepatitis C virus."

Charles M. Rice-Affiliation now: Rockefeller University, New York, NY, USA
Michael Houghton-Affiliation : University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada
Harvey J. Alter-Affiliation: National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD, USA
Prize motivation: "for the discovery of Hepatitis C virus."


The Nobel Prize in Physics 2020 was divided, one half awarded to Roger Penrose "for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity", the other half jointly to Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez "for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the centre of our galaxy."

Roger Penrose-Affiliation : University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom
Reinhard Genzel-Affiliation: University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA, Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Garching, Germany
Andrea Ghez-Affiliation: University of California, Los Angeles, CA, USA


The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2020 was awarded jointly to Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna "for the development of a method for genome editing."

Emmanuelle Charpentier-Affiliation : Max Planck Unit for the Science of Pathogens, Berlin, Germany
Jennifer A. Doudna-Affiliation : University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA


Thanks for your feedback here. To comment select Name not anonymous. Thanks