Winners of 64th National Film Awards 2016 : Complete List | Winners from Malayalam Films

Winners List of 64th National Film Awards 2016 | Kasaav (Marathi)-Best Film,  Rajesh Mapuskar -best Director (Ventilator-Marathi), Akshay Kumar -Best Actor ( Rustom -Hindi), Surabhi C.M-Best Actress( Minnaminungu-Malayalam)

National Films Awards - the most prestigious film awards in India organised by directorate of film festival  for the best films in 2016 was declared on 6th April 2017 March 2016. Kasaav (Marathi) by Sumitra Bhave & Sunil Sukthankar has been named the best feature film in the 64th National Film awards. Best Director Award by Rajesh Mapuskar for Ventilator(Marathi) Actor Akshay Kumar won best actor award for for ‘the Hindi film ‘Rustom’ and Surabhi Lakshmi for the Malayalam film ‘Minnaminungu–the Firefly’ bagged best actress award.

There are 30 categories in the feature films segment and 22 in the non-feature films one. In a newly introduced category, Uttar Pradesh was declared the most film-friendly State while Jharkhand earned special mentions.

64th National Film Awards : Winners from Malayalam Film Industry

Maheshinte Prathikaram won the award for the best feature film in Malayalam (Producer: Dream Mill Cinemas and Entertainment Pvt.Ltd.;Director: Dileesh Pothan). Shyam Pukshar bagged award for the Best Screenplay (Original):for Maheshinte Prathikaaram. He won the same award at the Kerala State Film Awards 2016   as well.

Malayalam actress Surabhi won the best actor award for Minnaminungu.  Adish Praveen got best child actor award for his performance in  Malyalam Film Kunju Daivam.  Mohan Lal won special jury award for best actor for his performance in Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol, Janatha Garrage and Pullimurugan

Jayadevan Chakka Dath got Best Audiography - Sound Designer award for the malayalam film Kaadu Pookkunna Neram. Peter Hein won BEST Action Direction (Stunt Choreography) Pulimurugam (Malayalam). He was honoured for the same at the 19th Asianet Film awards 2017 

Winners of 64th National Film Awards 2016 - Winners from Malayalam Film Industry
Winners of 64th National Film Awards 2016 - Winners from Malayalam Film Industry

Winners of 64th National Film Awards 2016 : Complete List
Best Feature Film: Kasaav (Marathi)
Best Direction: Rajesh Mapuskar for Ventilator(Marathi)
Best Screen play
*Screenplay writer (original): Syam Pushkaran for Maheshinte Prathikooram (Malayalam)
*Screenplay Writer (Adapted): Sanjay Krishnaji Patil for Dashakriya (Marathi)
*Dialogues: Tarun Bhascker for Peli Chuplu (Telugu)
Best Actor: Akshay Kumar for Rustom (Hindi)
Best Actress: Surabhi C.M for Minnaminungu – the Firefly (Malayalam)
Best Supporting Actor: Manoj Joshi for Dashakriya (Marathi)
Best Supporting Actress: Zaira Wasim for Dangal (Hindi)
Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment - Sathamanam Bhavathi
Best Film on social issue - Pink
Best Children’s Film - Dhanak (Hindi)
Best Child Artist: Adish Praveen for Kunju Daivam (Malayalam),
Nur Islam and Samiul Alam for Sahaj Pather Gappo (Bengali),
Manohara. K for Railway Children (Kannada)

Best Music Direction (Songs /Background Score): Bapu Padmanabha for Allama (Kannada)
Best Lyrics: Vairamuthu for song Entha Pakkam from film Dharma Durai (Tamil), Anupam Roy for Tumi Jaake Bhalo Basho from Praktan(Bengali)
Best Male Playback Singer: Sundharayyar for song Jasmie E from film Joker (Tamil)
Best Female Playback Singer: Iman Chakraborty for song Tumi Jaake Bhalo Basho from film Praktan (Bengali)

Best Cinematography: S. Thirunavukarasu for 24 (Tamil)
Best Audiography
*Sound Designer: Jayadevan Chakka Dath for Kaadu Pookkunna Neram (Malayalam)
*Re-recordist of the final mixed track: Alok De for Ventilator (Marathi)
Best Editing: Rameshwar for Ventilator (Marathi)
Best Production Design: Subrata Chakraborthy, Shreyas Khedekar and Amit Ray for 24 (Tamil)
Best Costume Designer: Sachin Lovalekar for Cycle (Marathi)
Best Make-up Artist: NK Ramakrishna for Allama (Kannada)
Best Choreography: Raju Sundaram for Janatha Garrage(Telugu)
Best Special Effect: Naveen Paul for Shivaay (Hindi)

Special Awards
Special Jury Award: Mohan Lal (Pulimurugan, Janatha Garage and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol)

Special Mention
Sonam Kapoor for Neerja (Hindi)
Adil Hussain for Mukti Bhawan (Hindi) and Maj Rati Keteki (Assamese) Producer Red Carper Moving Pictures and director Shubhashish
Bhutiani for Mukti Bhawan (Hindi) Producer Eleeanora Images Private Ltd and director Nila
Madhab Panda for Kadvi Hawa (Hindi)

Best Feature Film: Kasaav (Marathi)
Best Feature Film: Kasaav (Marathi)

Best feature films in regional languages
Best Assamese Film: Maj Rati Keteki
Best Bengali Film: Bisorjon
Best Hindi Film: Neerja
Best Kannada Film: Reservation
Best Konkani Film: K Sera Sera –Ghodpachen Ghoddtelem
Best Malayalam Film: Maheshinte Prathikaaram
Best Marathi Film: Dashakriya
Best Telegu Film: Peli Chuplu
Best Gujarati Film: Wrong Side Raju
Best Tamil Film: Joker
Best Moran Film: Haanduk
Best Tulu Film: Madipu

Awards for Non Feature Film Category
Best Non Feature Film: Fireflies In The Abyss
Best Debut Film of a Director: Soz…A Ballad of Maladies by Tushar Madhav
Best Biographical/ Historical Reconstruction: Zikr Us
Parivashka: Begum Akhtar
Best Arts/Cultural Film: In The Shadow of Time and The Lord of The Universe
Best Environment Film including Agriculture: The Tiger Who Crossed The Line
Best Film on Social Issues: I Am Jeeja and Sanath
Best Educational Film: The Waterfall
Best Exploration/Adventure Film: Matitle Kusti
Best Investigative Film: Placebo
Best Animation Film: Hum Chitra Banate Hain
Special Jury Award: The Cinema Travellers
Best Short Fiction Film: Aaba
Best Film on Family Values: Little Magician
Best Direction: Aaba Aiktaay Naa?
Best Cinematography: Kalpvriksha” and Adnyat
Best Audiography: In Return Just A Book
Best Editing: Gudh
Best Music: Leeches
Best Narration/Voice Over: Makino

Special Mention
Director Amitabh Parashar for The Eyes of Darkness
Director Ramen Borah and Sibanu Borah for Sikar Aru Sitkar
Director Soumya Sadanandan for Chembai-Descoperire A Mea Unei Legend

Best Writing on Cinema
Best Book on Cinema: Lata : Sur Gatha by Yatindra Mishra
Best Film Critic: G. Dhananjayan

Most Film Friendly State Award: State of Uttar Pradesh
Special Mention: State of Jharkhand

Tags: Winners of National Film Awards 2017


Thanks for your feedback here. To comment select Name not anonymous. Thanks