Meri Awaz Suno On Doordarshan (National) | Music Reality Show

Meri Awaz Suno was an iconic Music reality and talent search show on Doorsharshan (Inaidn National Television Cahnnel). Meri Awaz Suno is the first music reality television show in India telecasted by DD National in 1996.

The national level show and music talent search contest was conducted jointly by Doordarshan, Lata Mangeshkar, and Yash Chopra's "Metavision". The judging panel included eminent Indian musicians Pandit Jasraj, Bhupen Hazarika, Manna Dey and Lata Mangeshkar.

The title songs of the show was sung by Lata Makeshkar.

Annu Kapoor was the anchor and host of the show.

Winners of Meri Awaz Suno show were Pradip Somasundaram from Thrissur Kerala Kerala and Sunidhi Chauhan from Delhi .The legendary Lata Mangeshkar, Manna Dey ,Bhupen Hazarika and Hindustani vocalist Pandit Jasraj were the judges for the grand finale of Meri Awaz  Suno.

"Lata Mangeshkar" Trophy for the best male singer was given to Pratip Somasundaram along with Sunidhi Chauhan who won in the female category.

The show was purely based on talents (not on text messages, SMS were involved) and the competition span over an year with various round to test the talent of the contestants.

 Bollywood playback singer Sunidhi Chauhan is considered the major discovery of the show Meri Awaaz Suno telecasted in October, 1996. She is now an established singer in main focus on bollywood.

Soon after 'Meri Awaz Suno' in 1996, Pradip also  got  many offers to sing in  Malayalam films. He is an engineer by profession, so he wisely stuck to his job. He is now the Principal of the IHRD College of Applied Sciences at Vadakkumchery. He is also a playback singer in other languages including Telugu.


Thanks for your feedback here. To comment select Name not anonymous. Thanks